Some incidents are best forgotten. Even this one. Many a times, I have decided to blog it and have given up. It is one of those sinister memories that have brought me shame, to my people and my country. 

It occurred when I was returning from MTTS. The train journey from Bangalore to my home was almost over. I got down at Kalyan station and headed towards a local train to Mulund. 

The platform was awfully crowded in spite of being a Sunday. I had huge luggage with me but somehow managed to get inside the compartment. 
Mulund is six stations from Kalyan and my journey would take at least half an hour. The crowd was pushing me from all sides. There was a huge giant fellow near me. I overheard him boasting in Marathi to another guy. Besides them was a girl leaning on one side near the door. The way the guy facing her was surrounding her, I guessed him to be her (boy) friend or brother. (Later, I came to know that he was her brother). Then there was a pygmy who, being hit by the crowd the most, was trying to free himself. He asked the crowd in Hindi, “Bhai saab, Mulund aane ko kitne station hain?”

By his accent the pygmy seemed North Indian, typically called bhaiya in the Bambaiya slang.
“Abey, thik se khada nahi reh sakta kya?” the brother shouted at the pygmy, and shouted back some Marathi abuses. The other Maharashtrian guys soon joined him in the ‘abuse-session.’ He implored pleadingly, muttering “maine kya kiya?” but the mob was in no mood to listen. Soon, the boorish bro was furious. He showered a hell of abuses and God knows why, he started slapping the bhaiya.
Not a single person tried to interrupt. Who would like to endure the wrath of this demonaic incubus! My head drooped in shame as I heard the pygmy bhaiya cry, “maine kya kiya… bolo bhai.. Aap bataao.” I was standing besides him. I mustured courage and told, “Jaane do, tumhara time hi kharaab hai aisa samjho.” That must have imbibed some sense in him, for, he did not argue back.. just sobbed.
I recounted this incident to my pappa, who had come to the station to recieve me. He replied back that such incidents are quite commonplace and its in one’s best interest to remain indifferent to the situation. Both of us gave each other a dismal nod of helplessness. I returned home, glad to see mom and sister, completely forgetting the train incident.
post signature
