Personally, I am a great fan of Google. But in this article, I’m going to give an unbiased comparison between the two leading photo sharing softwares, Google’s Picasa Web Albums and Yahoo Flickr.
All comparisons are being made for FREE USERS (non-paying) only.

  • Storage space: Picasa offers 1Gb in all, Flickr beats Picasa in it, Flickr offers 100Mb per month, so total unlimited space.
  • Photo size: Each image in Flickr can be atmost of 5Mb whereas images upto 10Mb are allowed in Picasa.
  • Albums: A free Flickr user can create just 3 albums (Flickr calls it ‘Sets’) but there is no such limitation in Picasa. I think this is a major setback for Flickr, since it would be very difficult for someone with say 1000 photos to classify in three groups only.
  • Limited Sharing: This is the most important feature that I am looking for. This means that you can share photos only to your family/friends and not to anyone on the web. Both Flickr and Picasa have this facility of showing your ‘personal’-tagged photos only to your contacts, but my google contacts are more and ‘frequently used’. I have hardly any Yahoo friends, so I think this a bit painful. Nevertheless, I have uploaded my Kerala pics and you can see them here. If you are my Flickr friend, you can see more Kerala photos. MY FLICKR ALBUM
  • Face detection: In Picasa, it automatically detects human faces (unexpectedly accurately) and with a single click, you can relate the persons in the photos to Gmail’s contacts. The result is just fantastic! Flickr doesn’t have this feature.
  • Better search: Flickr has a search by camera, an interesting feature that Picasa misses!

Finally, I think one important feature of Picasa is that we generally use a lot of Google stuff (Docs, orkut, youtube, blog, websearch) so our contacts are usually on Gmail, hence photos can be shared easily. Not everyone is comfortable or uses a yahoo account!

post signature

