Often, people ask me, “Electronics kyon chhoda? usme maths use hota hai na.. OR finance mein ja; usme maths bahut lagta hai….” My answer to them is farily simple: “Lekin Maths mein electronics ya finance nahi lagta.”

I am lucky to be able to pursue PURE maths. I have finally entered the league of mathematicians. We jokingly claim – We may not do everything useful like the physicists and chemists, but at least what we do is pure!

I used to joke: that if a day comes when the world believes me to be a good mathematician, and I have enough money to sponsor Parab prize for pure mathematics, then I shall award it to a deserving candidate. But once an application has been found for his theorem, I shall take away that prize! Since the application is discovered, there would exist physics and economics prizes for him to be bestowed upon.
Recently, a collegue friend of mine doing MSc Math@IITB was awarded a prize for good performance in his BSc Mathematics at Mumbai University. He had actually completed his Msc (part one) from IIT Roorkee. He then left the course incomplete and came to IIT Bombay to pursue MSc in pure maths. I asked him, why he didn’t get the BSc prize last year as he had completed his Bsc two years ago. He replied that his course at IIT Roorkee was in APPLIED Mathematics; so having deviated from pure maths, they say he didn’t deserve the prize then. I was amazed and equally proud. A true mathematician’s aesthetic sense lies as much in hating differential equations and statistics (and the like) as in appreciating the beauty of the celebtated Euler equation exp(i*pi) + 1 = 0
(I have been carried away, so let me explain: This equation has five great constants- e, i, Pi, 1, 0 that come together with basic operations +, * and exponent, each used exactly once!)
At an interview for Phd in Maths at TIFR, another friend of mine was asked to evaluate a particular limit. He couldn’t solve it using first principles and hesitantly, resorted to the L’Hopital Rule. The interviewers were frustrated at his using the unromantic way of solving it.
Indeed, when many pure mathematicians (at least in India) hear of “differential equations”, I have seen their faces turn sour. We don’t call the consequence of a theorem as its “Application”, but label it as “Corollary”. We don’t want applications, we want results; romantic results!

As mathematician G H Hardy puts it:
Beauty is the first test: there is no permanent place for ugly mathematics. (It will be replaced by elegant mathematics.)
